Window Pane

2242D2D8AF5549F090320023BA5B516F

 

Window Pane

~

Such cruelty,

Tantalizing toy in the window pane

and my pockets empty-

Time ran out of change to pay for a stock

in your heart of gold, and I go insane

when inside my mind I can almost taste

your delightful treats

while dying of hunger enchanted and dazed.

I can’t hardly stare if could only knock

and you look my way,

but this life so cruel and won’t let me play

only stare in wonder at the window pane-

H.O


“But all these were things he could not want, because they were things he could not have, and wanting what you could not have led to misery and madness.”

― Cassandra Clare

3 comments on “Window Pane

  1. Hector, you leave me wondering why we crave the unattainable. “only stare in wonder…” 🙂 Have a peaceful evening and a terrific Tuesday. ~ Mia

Leave a Reply

